You're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is no longer supported. Please update your browser.

Strathcona Regional District

About Strathcona Regional District

Located on beautiful Vancouver Island, the Strathcona Regional District covers almost 22,000 square kilometers and is home to approximately 43,000 residents. The region covers roughly the same size land area as the country of Belize, and is actually larger in size than El Salvador, Israel and Slovenia. The geography of the region ranges from forested hills, remote inlets, picturesque villages to vibrant urban landscapes. The borders extend from the Oyster River in the south to Gold River, Sayward, Tahsis, Zeballos and Kyuquot-Nootka in the north and west, and east to Cortes Island, Quadra Island and the Discovery Islands as well as a portion of the adjacent mainland north of Powell River.
Within the boundaries, there are five municipalities - Gold River, Zeballos, Campbell River, Tahsis and Sayward and four electoral areas.
The SRD provides a variety of government services with the region, including a full-service sportsplex, park services, liquid and solid waste systems, emergency response and preparedness, bylaw enforcement, building permitting and inspection.